When did Google ever really communicate with any site?
I think that this warning is the Google equivilent of a "quiet word".
Perhaps the site owner does not know what is happening. Perhaps the site owner has contracted a 3rd party service (sitemap or ppc advertising) and just copied and pasted a code.
All I know is what happened when I was infected and I am assuming that this is the same scam.
The virus took control of my Internet search. When I clicked on a SERP it took me to another site showing Google AdWords for the keyword.
A lot of Internet users would not know that anything had happened, the site showing the Adwords would have got paid for the click and the site I clicked on lost a natural hit.
I think that lots of sites may be unknowingly caught up in it. There are some amazing domains on the Spyware Doctor "Black Hat", places we go all the time, especially for ppc. I cannot mention any names here!
It is easy to see how it could happen.
A webmaster decides to put GetRichQuick.com ads. on his site and copies and pastes the code. When the page is opened a Java code is fetched and run from GRQ.com and the webmaster is really putting his life in their hands.
The code may serve ads. one day but do something completely differently the next. GRQ.com can change the code to do anything they want.
As an example here is the Google Adwords code -
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>
Easy to see how it could happen! I am not saying that they would but Google could change "show_ads.js" to do almost anything.
What is the solution?
One thing is very clear. If we copy and paste any code to our site we must take great care if it contains a URL to a code on a remote site.
There is all sorts of info. around about the issue.
Discussion with a site owner who "got the message" Google Webmaster central: Quick security checklist for webmasters
Homefinder